Korea Bans Flights from South Africa over Omicron Variant

  • By Bae Jun-yong

    November 29, 2021 08:59

    Korea on Sunday banned flight from eight southern African countries as the Omicron variant of coronavirus, a potentially more contagious variant of COVID-19, sparked renewed panic around the world and sent stock markets and oil prices tumbling.

    The government in an emergency meeting on Saturday decided to ban flights from South Africa, where the Omicron variant was first detected, as well as Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

    Korean citizens who are arriving from those countries must spend 10 days in a government-designated quarantine center whether they are vaccinated or not, and have repeated COVID-19 tests.

    Travelers are being checked on arrival at Incheon International Airport on Sunday. /Newsis

    Eight Koreans are scheduled to arrive from the region on Monday afternoon aboard two different flights.

    Meanwhile, the daily tally of new coronavirus infections stood at 3,309 with 629 severe cases.

    • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
    Previous Next
    All Headlines Back to Top