Ko Jin-young Named LPGA's Rookie of the Year

  • By Min Hak-soo

    October 24, 2018 10:11

    Ko Jin-young /Yonhap

    Golfer Ko Jin-young will receive this year's Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year award, becoming the fourth straight Korean winner.

    With four events remaining to be played this season, her nearest competitor, England's Georgia Hall, decided to sit out the three upcoming tournaments slated to be held in Asia, leaving Ko with an unbeatable 1,137 points, 383 ahead of Hall.

    Hall garnered 754 points as of last week and theoretically could have surpassed Ko by winning three out of the final four events, as winning a tournament is worth 150 points.

    Ko joins compatriots Kim Sei-young (2015), Chun In-gee (2016) and Park Sung-hyun (2017) in winning the honor. Korean New Zealander Lydia Ko won the award in 2014.

    Twelve Korean golfers have been named the Rookie of the Year since Pak Se-ri won the award in 1998, sparking a boom in women's golf in Korea.

    • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
    Previous Next
    All Headlines Back to Top