Korea to Face Japan in Opening Match of Inaugural Baseball Championship

      June 23, 2015 11:36

      The inaugural Premier 12 championship organized by the World Baseball Softball Confederation will be held in November in Japan and Taiwan.

      The top 12 teams on the WBSC's world baseball rankings will be invited to participate in the international tournament.

      Korea is grouped with Dominican Republic, Japan, Mexico, the U.S. and Venezuela. The other group comprises Canada, Cuba, Italy, the Netherlands, Puerto Rico and Taiwan.

      According to the schedule released by the WBSC on Monday, Korea and Japan will play the opening game in Japan on Nov. 8. Korea's next four games will be played in Taiwan from Nov. 10 to 15.

      After round robin play, the top four teams of each group will advance to the quarterfinals, which will be held on Nov. 18. The semifinals will be held on Nov. 19 and 20 in Tokyo. The final will take place in Tokyo on Nov. 21.

      The Premier 12 championship is an ambitious attempt by the WBSC to create the world's most prestigious baseball competition.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top