Who Are the Members of the Exclusive Space Club?

      January 31, 2013 13:00

      South Korea may have launched a satellite on Wednesday, but that does not quite make it a member of the exclusive space club, because the rocket that put it into orbit was part-made in Russia.

      Nine countries are definitely members of the space club. The Soviet Union was first in 1957 with the Sputnik, followed by the U.S. in 1958 with Juno 1, France in 1965 with Diamant A, Japan in 1970 with Lambda 4S, China in 1970 with Long March 1, the U.K. in 1971 with Black Arrow, India in 1980 with SLV, Israel in 1988 with Shavit, and Iran in 2009 with Safir 2.

      Although North Korea successfully launched a rocket to put a satellite into orbit last month, the satellite entered the different orbit as originally planned.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top