Korea Bans Import of Food from 13 Japanese Regions

      April 15, 2011 14:01

      Following the classification of the Fukushima nuclear power plant disaster as a Level 7 accident on the international scale, the most severe, the Korea Food and Drug Administration is asking the Japanese government to provide a safety certificate for food products manufactured in 13 regions near the crippled nuclear complex. 

      Since it takes about four weeks until the necessary safety inspections are made, the measure is an effective ban on food imports from those regions.

      Food products from Fukushima, Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma and Chiba prefectures have already been temporarily banned, while eight more prefectures -- Miyagi, Yamagata, Niigata, Nagano, Saitama, Kanagawa, Shizuoka and Tokyo-to -- have been added to the list of regions that need to submit safety clearance documents.

      The government also set an iodine content limit of 100㏃ per kg for food products for children aged between 0 to 6.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top