Blue Dragon Award Goes to Sports Drama

      November 21, 2008 11:01

      This year's Blue Dragon Awards chose a sports drama about the silver medal-winning Korean women handball Olympic team as the best movie of the year.

      In the award ceremony in Seoul, on Thursday, the award for the best film went to "Forever the Moment" directed by Yim Soon-rye. The movie is based on the true story of the women's Olympic team which lost to Denmark in the finals of the 2004 Athens Olympics on penalty shots.

      The ceremony, the 29th, was presented by actor Jung Joon-ho and actress Kim Hye-soo.

      From second left, Jung Woo-sung, Son Ye-jin, Kim Ha-neul and Sul Kyoung-gu, who won the Most Popular Actor and Actress Award at the 29th Blue Dragon Film Awards at KBS Hall in Seoul on Friday. They are flanked by hosts Jung Joon-ho (far left) and Kim Hye-soo.

      The award for the best actor went to Kim Yun-seok, who plays a dirty detective who becomes a pimp in "The Chaser." Son Ye-jin won the award for the best actress for her role in "My Wife Got Married." Kim Jee-woon won best director for "The Good, the Bad, the Weird."

      The movie won three other awards, in cinematography and art direction, and for the movie that drew the biggest audience with 6.68 million. The proceedings turned solemn when Choi Jin-sil was named as the recipient of honorary popular star award.

      It was 50 days since Choi died by her own hand. Actor Ahn Sung-ki paid tribute to her, saying "The films that she left us will be remembered in our hearts forever." Other awards: Best new actor: So Ji-sub and Kang Ji-hwan

      Best new actress: Han Ye-seul
      Best new director: Lee Kyung-mee
      Best screenplay: "Miss Hong"
      Best score: Bang Joon-suk, for "Gogo 70"

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo &
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top