Korean Taekwondo Champion Elected to IOC Athletes' Commission

      August 22, 2008 09:38

      Moon Dae-sung

      Moon Dae-sung, the 2004 Athens Olympic taekwondo champion, has become the first Asian to be elected to the Athletes' Commission of the International Olympic Committee.

      The election was announced at the Beijing Olympic Village on Thursday. Moon garnered the most votes among 29 contenders with 3,220 of 7,216 total valid votes. He is only the ninth Korean to be elected as an IOC member. His election brought the number of current Korean IOC members to two -- the other is former Samsung Group chairman Lee Kun-hee.

      Having started in the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games, the IOC Athletes' Commission is elected from athletes who participated in an Olympiad through direct vote by their peers for a term of eight years. It has the same rights as other IOC commissions, including the right to vote on summer and winter Olympic venues.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top