Lee Byung-hun, Park Chan-wook to Vote on Oscars

      July 01, 2016 12:32

      Park Chan-wook (left) and Lee Byung-hun

      Actor Lee Byung-hun, star directors Park Chan-wook and Lee Chang-dong, and DreamWorks cinematographer Jhun Yong-duk were inducted into the U.S. Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Wednesday.

      They join a growing roster of Korean filmmakers in the ranks of the Academy, which awards the Oscars. Last year directors Im Kwon-taek and Bong Joon-ho, actors Choi Min-sik and Song Kang-ho and animator Kim Sang-jin joined the illustrious ranks alongside Hollywood superstars.

      Candidates for membership are recommended by two members and screened by the Academy's board of governors, and members have voting rights in the Academy Awards.

      The Academy has about 6,000 members. Among the 683 new entrants this year, women accounted for 46 percent and non-white people for 41 percent.

      Among the stars who joined this year were Emma Watson, best known as Hermione in the Harry Potter series, John Boyega and Idris Elba.

      Two Korean Americans were also among new entrants, independent movie director Kim So-yong and Daniel Dae Kim, who appeared in the hit series "Lost."

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top