Korea Bans Travel to Some Areas of Philippines

      November 27, 2015 11:35

      The Foreign Ministry on Thursday issued a travel ban for some areas of the Philippines.

      The ban on visiting Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi and Zamboanga follows a series of violent crimes there.

      The measure, which goes into effect early next month, prohibits Korean nationals from traveling to or residing in those areas.

      Those who visit any of the four places without authorization from the government could face up to a year in jail or a maximum W10 million fine (US$1=W1,150).

      A Foreign Ministry official said, "As crimes against innocent civilians have occurred in Zamboanga and surrounding areas, we upgraded our travel warning."

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      이전 기사 다음 기사
      기사 목록 맨 위로