Park Chan-ho to Receive MLB Pioneer Award

      January 02, 2015 12:43

      Park Chan-ho (left) and Hideo Nomo

      Park Chan-ho and Hideo Nomo, two legends among the first generation of Asian baseball players in Major League Baseball, will receive the Pioneers of Baseball award.

      ESPN on Thursday reported that Park and Nomo will be honored by MLB Commissioner Bud Selig during his retirement ceremony on Jan. 18 in New York City.

      Park signed with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1994 and played in the MLB until 2010 with the Texas Rangers, San Diego Padres, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, New York Yankees, and Pittsburgh Pirates.

      He concluded his MLB career with 124 wins and 98 losses, besting Nomo's record by one victory to hold the most wins by an Asian pitcher in the MLB.

      Park and Nomo were teammates with the Dodgers from 1995 to 1998.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo &
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top