Korea Extends Travel Ban for Five Countries

The Foreign Ministry has extended its travel ban to Iraq and Syria for another six months, citing continued civil unrest there.

Koreans are being told not to visit Iraq, Syria or Yemen until at least the end of January. The ban on Afghanistan and Somalia extends to February.

Political unrest and terrorist threats are expected to remain a continued problem in those countries.

Arirang News / Jul. 16, 2014 11:41 KST