Korean Quartet Wins Mozart Competition

      February 07, 2014 11:51

      The Novus Quartet

      The Novus Quartet, consisting of four musicians in their 20s, won first prize at the 11th International Mozart Competition in Salzburg, Austria on Wednesday, a first for a Korean ensemble.

      Established in 1975, the International Mozart Competition takes place once every three to five years. The Novus won the string quartet event.

      It was founded in 2007 with alumni of the Korean National University of Arts.

      All four members -- violinists Kim Jae-young and Kim Young-uk, violist Lee Seung-won and cellist Moon Woong-whee -- are currently in the master’s degree course at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      이전 기사 다음 기사
      기사 목록 맨 위로