Korea Hopes for Lucky Break in World Cup Draw

The group draw for the 2014 World Cup finals in Brazil will take place on Friday at the Brazilian resort town of Costa do Sauipe. The 32 countries that qualified will be divided into eight groups.

Broadly speaking, each group will feature one team from each of four pots that were announced Wednesday, although there is an exception this year as there are seven teams in Pot 2 and nine in Pot 4.

The first pot features the eight top seeds, or the top seven teams according to FIFA's world rankings in October plus host Brazil. These are, in ranking order, world No. 1 Spain, Germany, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium, Uruguay and Switzerland.

Pot 2 features five African countries -- Algeria, Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana and Nigeria -- and two South American teams that did not earn the top seeds, Chile and Ecuador.

Pot 3 is made up of four Asian countries -- Australia, Iran, Japan and Korea -- plus four countries from the North, Central America and Caribbean zone -- Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and the U.S.

Those European teams that did not receive the top seeds -- Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal and Russia -- comprise Pot 4.

Since the number of countries in each pot varies slightly, FIFA said it will select one European team at random from Pot 4 and move it to Pot 2 before the official draw on Friday.

FIFA ensures that all the continents are fairly represented in each group with the exception of Europe, as up to two teams from the continent can be grouped together.

Korea is hoping to avoid an unlucky draw that would see it grouped with two strong European sides plus a South American team.

englishnews@chosun.com / Dec. 05, 2013 10:22 KST

Related Articles