U.S. Lawmakers Seek 'Year of the Korean War Veteran'

      April 19, 2012 11:25

      Four U.S. lawmakers who fought in the 1950-53 Korean War have proposed designating 2012-2013 the "Year of the Korean War Veteran." They are Reps Charles Rangel, John Conyers, Sam Johnson and Howard Coble.

      The proposal came at the request of a U.S. Defense Department committee that has been tasked with commemorating the Korean War with events such as a national campaign to honor American veterans.

      President Lee Myung-bak salutes four Korean War veterans in the Capitol Hall in Washing D.C. in October last year.

       Last year, the four lawmakers co-sponsored a bill seeking to construct a memorial wall with the names of soldiers who died in the Korean War as part of efforts to keep the war from being forgotten.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo & Chosun.com
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top