Ministries to Move to Sejong City by 2014 as Planned

      July 13, 2010 12:14

      Thirty-five government agencies in Seoul including nine ministries will be relocated to Sejong City about 100 km south of the capital by 2014 after a government proposal to change the plan fell foul of the National Assembly.

      Public Administration and Security Minister Maeng Hyung-kyu on Monday said the government now wants to complete the relocation by 2014 as originally planned. The decision came after lawmakers rejected a proposal to turn Sejong City into a regional business hub instead.

      In 2005, the government announced a plan to relocate 49 government agencies, including 12 ministries to Sejong City. But a governmental reorganization in 2008 shrank the number of central government agencies from 18 to 15 while others changed their names, leading to modifications of the plan.

      The ministry said the targets for relocation are large agencies and ministries that were recently merged with others. Although the number of agencies has dwindled, the number of civil servants affected by the relocation rose slightly from 10,374 to 10,440.

      Construction of the new administrative city began in late 2008 for Lot 1 (38,000 sq.m), where the Prime Minister's Office will be located, and is about 24 percent complete. Groundbreaking will begin soon for Lot 2 (21,000 sq.m), which will house economy-related agencies, while construction of other sections is slated for completion in November 2013 and October 2014.

      • Copyright © Chosunilbo &
      Previous Next
      All Headlines Back to Top